My first blog post

Several months ago I was chatting to a friend and colleague about my unhappiness with my current work situation, and after listening to me vent for a while she said, “have you thought about working for yourself?”.

At the time I dismissed the suggestion out of hand: I’m a university administrator, and couldn’t see what anyone except a university would be willing to pay me to do.  Somehow, though, the idea stayed in the back of mind, not quite dismissed as much as I had thought.

As I am known to be Good With Words, I am often asked by work colleagues and managers to proof-read and copy-edit university policies, guidelines, reports, letters, emails, and anything else that involves words (which, in a university, is just about everything).  At some point between copy-editing a new process handbook (a job which could be more accurately described as ‘writing a handbook based on disjointed notes from four different people’) and bitching about the appalling standard of written English in some university documents, I realised that I might just have something that people would pay me to do: be Good With Words.

I decided that it might be a good idea to have some sort of proof that I actually am Good With Words, so I found an online course that would give me an accredited award in proof-reading and copy-editing, which I will be starting this very evening.  In the meantime, I came up with a name for my new business – Red Tabby Words* – and started looking at what I needed to do to make my business a reality.

So far the answer seems to “lots”, so I decided to start a blog to keep track of my thoughts and to share my progress with anyone who might be interested.  The next post will be my thoughts on what needs to be done – Red Tabby Words, here we go…

 

* The name comes from the ‘proper’ name for a ginger cat, which, as any cat-lover knows, is a red tabby.  The ginger cat is a) me – my name is Cat and I have ginger hair – and b) my late father’s (and now my mother’s) ginger teddy bear of a cat, Garfield.  That’s Garfield in the picture at the top of this post: dignified he’s not, but cuddly he certainly is!

Leave a Reply

